Skip to content

Books: Franny and Zooey

January 25, 2012


This book, the second that I read after Catcher, completely changed Salinger for me. Instead of writing about this charming, hilarious, beautiful thing, I’m just going to make a list of quotes from it:

-“The word is ‘washcloth ,’ not ‘washrag,’ and all I want, God damn it, Bessie, is to be left alone in this bathroom. That’s my one simple desire. If I’d wanted this place to fill up with every fat Irish rose that passes by, I’d’ve said so. Now, c’mon. Get out”

-“I wish you’d get married,” Mrs. Glass said, abruptly, wistfully…”Well I do,” she insisted. “Why don’t you?”

“I like to ride in trains too much. You never get to sit next to the window anymore when you’re married.”

-…her brother Buddy had morbidy prophesied to himself, as she grinned at him from the graduate’s platform, that she would in all probability one day marry a man with a hacking cough. So there was that in her face, too.

-“Anyway I just got your letter and I love you to pieces, distraction, etc., and can hardly wait for the weekend.” “Incidentally I’ll kill you if there’s a receiving line at this thing.”

-“Against my better judgement, I feel certain that somewhere very near here-the first house down the road, maybe-there’s a good poet dying, but also somewhere very near here somebody’s having a hilarious pint of pus taken from her lovely young body, and I can’t be running back and forth forever between grief and high delight.”

Read it, for goodness’ sake.

And thanks to Tom, who convinced me to try Salinger with a passing remark he made once, years ago.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 11:36 am

    I’ve been wanting to read this FOREVER. And now you’ve inspired me to just go ahead and get it.

Trackbacks

  1. Week Of 1.30.12 «

Leave a Reply

